One Piece Gold Model Kit!

Contents:

Instruction Manual- In Japanese Only but with Pictures

4 Runner Plates Labeled A-D

1 Sticker Sheet

1 Commemorative Plastic Photo of the Crew Members

Tools Needed

1 set of pliers(I used two different ones myself)

1 tweezers

1 cotton swab

*Recommended tools but not needed at all

If not on a table, a trash bag or mat to place all the materials on

1 small cup to put loose broken trash pieces

Building the Ship!

So, this was my very first model kit experience ever. Me and my sister decided to build this in honor of the 20th anniversary. We were a bit busy on the actual day, but managed to make time the day after. First thing I did was lay out a trash bag, and all the different runner plates and my tools. I wanted everything to be organized the best I could, so this wouldn’t be too difficult. Sadly, there is little to no picture by picture guides of this online, so I had to go in with one youtube video and what I could discern from the instructions. This is what everything looked like in the box. *Minus the stickers that decorate the ship.

Look Japanese Instructions! At least the pictures were clear!
Looks like a lot but it’s not too bad since everything is labeled.
The extra photo collectible .

From there assembly began! I didn’t take pictures of the process, but at the bottom of this post I will post a link to the video guide I used to aid me in my process. It was incredibly helpful for me. I think without it, this process would have been ever harder to complete, so I’m glad I had at least that much there. At first my sister was the one who was snapping pieces together and using the stickers, and I was using the pliers to snap stuff off while getting it all ready, but as we went on the roles switched. This is because the number one thing that is the hardest part of this whole process is the stickers.

So, first off using pliers on this was a breeze. Easily one of the most unchallenging parts of the building. Which is great since I didn’t want to ruin anything. This was actually her ship so I would have been sad if we broke something. Snapping the pieces together was usually super manageable too. A few times we had to line it up just right to do it, but for the most part if you tried to do it without much effort they would connect perfectly. The beast of this project was the stickers.

This is not a big model kit. It looks bigger because of the size of the box, but in actuality this ship is only about 5-7 inches. It’s not tiny, but it isn’t large either. Which means, the stickers were absolutely mini in size. This is where the tweezers and cotton swab came in. The tweezers were to peel and apply the stickers to the ship without the hassle of accidentally ripping them or fiddling forever to get them in the right place. Then the cotton swab was to smooth them out and remove air bubbles. Sounds nice and easy, but honestly so many of these stickers were so tiny, even the pair of tweezers I was using wasn’t very effective in applying them to the model. If these stickers were normal size, and the ship larger, this assembly would have been a 4th of the time it took us to do.

Assembly Time: 5 hours

Depending on how long it takes you to decipher the Japanese and deal with the stickers. It could take a little over a single hour but if you want the stickers to be good be prepared for it to take a lot longer.

Assembly Difficulty: 5 of 10

The instructions take a little time to figure out but aren’t too bad in all honesty. The stickers being so small and some of the pieces being cheap plastic are the only things that get in the way. Sometimes they won’t stick right away or the pieces refuse to stay connected until you line them up just right. It’s not so much hard, as a bit tedious.

Model Rating Verdict: 7.7 of 10

For a fairly cheap model kit, this isn’t too bad for what you pay. It isn’t overly fancy or large, but in the end, it is pretty satisfying to make. I struggled a lot with the stickers and this hour and a half to two hour expected journey took me twice as long just to get the stickers to stay put. It’s a budget model if anything, and I can’t say it’s amazing. However, if you like One Piece and don’t want to spend a Beli1,000,000  them I recommend this ship. The instructions may be in a foreign language, but everything is clearly labeled, and the picture guide is quite accurate and well made. Don’t expect this thing to look perfect though. If you want that, buy it and paint the bad boy with lots of focus and craft. It’s not the best model kit, but for my first experience with one, I’d say it was incredibly fun, and that is all I could ask for when doing one of these. Below I will show pictures of what our result ended up looking like, and link the video below that made the process even easier on me. Until next time friends!

