In 2020 I reached a benchmark I had long wanted to reach. I beat my 500th game in my lifetime, and with that, I decided it was time to organize and make a list of my favorites. To commemorate and really feel satisfied with this idea I wanted to share my list with the world. So on my social platform of Kitsu, I decided to make a post one at a time about each and every game on my list. These are those posts migrated over here for you all to read. Once I make the Top Ten though, all of those posts will be wholly unique and curated for here.  I plan to update this list every year, but for now, until I reach the end of my countdown, please enjoy my current Top 100 Favorite Games of All Time! Any questions or concerns, let me know in the comments below, but as always thank you for reading my little gaming wanderers! Here’s to video games and my lifelong passion for them, shared with you all!

30: Super Mario Galaxy

Played on: Wii
Year Released: 2007

You know, I always find it hard to rank titles like this. Not because of the quality of the title itself, but because of the issue of having a sequel that feels almost more like a companion game than something wholly different. Several titles like Portal, Left4Dead, mainline Mega Man games and so many others cause this problem for me. I think of them so close in my mind, that I can’t really separate them all that much. Yet, if I had to choose one which one would it actually be. Basically what I am saying is that while Super Mario Galaxy 2 is basically just as good as the original in every single way, I prefer the original, and felt it was the only one deserving to be on this list overall. So therefore the sequel while as good as they come isn’t here, don’t let it make you think I don’t love and respect it. Similar to my Portal 2 entry, this is basically me picking which experience I prefer despite both being absolutely incredible.

This is my favorite 3D Mario experience. A straightforward collection of ideas supported by ambitious creativity to expand the genre, and plenty of core aspects that define the franchise as a whole. I have always liked the less open 3D Marios I’ve come to notice. I like challenge or specific goal-oriented games more. It’s fun to know what I am setting out to do and prove I can do it. And Galaxy nails that feeling. From the basic story stars to the challenge comets, to the purple coin rushes. The game finds tons of inventive ways to challenge the player in their platforming skill using the variety of mechanics that make Galaxy play the way it does. Instead of a terrible camera or slippery momentum being the reason you die most times, in Galaxy the mistakes on your own ability to time and judge the jumps you have the make. The way the genre is meant to be, but without the issues that came from trying to expand the core concepts into 3D causing gameplay strife.

From the moment you get launched into space and the gorgeous orchestral soundtrack starts, this game cemented itself as an unforgettable time. It can sometimes be hard to articulate why a game feels so good to play. I could just say, well you know it’s Mario and really fun! Which is what it all boils down to in the end. Imaginative level design mixed with precise and fun-to-use controls create a game that feels endlessly replayable. Even the small inclusion of motion controls I honestly rather enjoyed. I like doing the hectic ray surfing, and the monkey ball-esque tilt portions. I am probably in that minority but I always feel that if you have hardware with specific functionality you might as well find a way to implement it to make your game more interesting or unique if possible. I think the simple and few examples of this in Galaxy are all done super well, and I personally like them. This game reinvents the wheel with how to view 3D platforming while staying true to the roots of the genre to make a near-perfect game of this type. I don’t have any strong criticisms against the game in general honestly. I love the hub, the speed of the game, and how fun the game plays out. Anything that could be uplifted more actually got that treatment so if I want even better bosses, challenges, and more Yoshi in my life the sequel is there for me. Otherwise, Galaxy fits all my needs and wants for a 3D Mario game so I can at least be happy with that. Okay maybe the bee suit isn’t my favorite, but it’s only the little things that take this game down even at its best!

29: Catherine

Played on: PS3
Year Released: 2011

Who would have thought my own girlfriend years later would also be named Catherine. It’s like as soon as I took a chance on this game, the name became intertwined deeply into my life. Back in that time I had not yet played Persona and had no idea of the connection between Hashino’s games. I found this weird game that was 1 part deconstruction of what it means to be in a couple and 1 part block puzzle nightmare fuel. Together it created a harmonic dissonance that I truly loved. Out of any game I’ve decided to do a full 100% completionist route, this is by far my proudest achievement.

Catherine is about a man named Vincent Brooks who is torn between his long-time girlfriend who is ready for big commitments such as marriage and possible children versus this new exciting woman who he hits it off with a bar and suddenly awakes next to in his bed the next morning. The plot focuses heavily on the ideas of fidelity, freedom, and responsibility to yourself and your partner. There isn’t really a right or wrong answer, because that is how life operates. Every choice you make basically veers you towards one side of a meter. One that aims to show values of commitment and stability, and the other freedom and experimentation. You start off at the crossroads of Vincent’s life. What path will you lead him on? One of the evolutions of his relationship or one where he seeks a new avenue not yet known to him? It’s all up to you, and you will always find these answers by conquering the nightmares you are stuck in that put your very life at risk.

And the nightmare portions are where the meaty gameplay comes in. A real-time climb to the top puzzle game. Where you must try to ascend before the bottom catches up to you. You must master all forms of pulling, pushing, and climbing to avoid all the perils before you. It could be spike death traps, icey cubes, or a giant ass monster chasing you up a tower. Honestly, the game keeps it pretty fresh to keep you off your toes as you try to solve and figure out the algorithms that block your way to safety. I find these puzzles complex enough to be engaging while being always fair and normally with plenty of time to get used to how to do them. Bosses are more hectic but normally service you will have simpler layouts to work through to balance it out. Catherine is a tough game, especially on the harder modes, but I find it is always a rewarding one. If you like odd Japanese flair with a mature story and thrilling puzzle mechanics I bet you could find something to like here. One of these days I will get around to Fullbody and decide if I want to go through the hell of doing every challenge again. My guess is no since honestly I just want to see the character of Rin and the remixed puzzles, but either way, I’m down for more Catherine. Whether it’s Rapunzel, hearing the words EDGE/NEW RECORD, or hell just getting nice flirty photos of hot anime girls, the game definitely never fails to keep me entertained!

28: Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

Played on: PS4
Year Released: 2016

When I first finished this game I really enjoyed it. It didn’t quite match up to the second game for me, but I still had a blast. Over the next week though I decided to do what I had with the previous two entries. Do a full completionist run and explore the game to its fullest. From every side conversation to chasing dolphins in crystal clear water, I picked this game to pieces like I so often do with the things I play through. At the end of it all: a crushing run, a speed run, and a 100% collectible pickup extravaganza I realized something. This game is my favorite experience in not only Naughty Dog but also the Uncharted franchise. A perfect ending to a saga that helped shape cinematic storytelling and set pieces for the past generation of games all wrapped up in a quiet and beautiful final epilogue. Through a series of stories inspired by Doc Savage, Indiana Jones, and Tomb Raider through the minds of people like Amy Hennig, Bruce Straley, and Neil Druckman we got a fully realized experience with Nathan Drake.

Despite the more toned-down nature of the final game, stripping away the mystical elements of previous titles, Uncharted 4 does something even greater. It elevates its action and characters to a place of comfort, accessibility, and evolution not seen before. I give a lot of the credit to the whole franchise working as well as it did to Amy, with her fun and light-hearted nature really helping balance the bombastic and over-the-top games her characters lived in. So with the more serious and grim mind of Druckmann behind the wheel, how do we keep that balance? Well, it’s with the incredible nature of past team members who were still are part like Bruce and of course the amazing voice crew. Specifically Nolan North, Emily Rose, and Richard Mcgonagle continued their roles with exceeded maturity while retaining the classic charm and wit that they had crafted over the years. With the help of new blood like Baker and Bailey who have tremendous skill, the mixture created a more real story than ever. The story of Nathan Drake having to come to terms that his life of adventure is coming to a close. Stability, marriage, safety, all of these things come into play as he much faces what he values most with the question of family at the heart of it all. What does family mean to you, and how far will you go to maintain the family you want. Uncharted 4 delivers this in the most well-told game of its style I’ve probably seen, and I really commend the team for going for broke with it. Few games have ever given me the feeling of satisfaction as the hitting the end credits of this game.

Gameplay is largely similar to what fans would know and expect. Smarter A.I. with larger and more diverse battle environments help combat feel as snappy and fun as ever as you play as the perfect action star ever. Most of the locals are dripping with gorgeous details and hidden secrets to discover. Secret conversations, treasures, or just little references like Guybrush Threepwood all awaiting you on this hunt for Pirate Treasure! The balance of slow cinematic storytelling and adrenaline-filled action gameplay is as good as it gets from ND. While Uncharted 3 felt like its story needed more room to breath and The Last of Us 2 dragged its heels a little too long for its own good, Uncharted 4 hits the balance needed for proper satisfaction. Every time I boot this game back up I feel like I going through the conclusion of things I love that are linked to tons of build-up. Seeing the photo of Nate, Elena, and Sully from the first game as a send-off is just a perfect way to close this incredibly enjoyable series of games. The only major complaint I have is the lack of the classic theme on the main menu. Let me get pumped up guys, I only got to hear a beautiful piano remix during the end portion and that’s it?! Get out of here with that! You will give me Sully with a lemur and promises of a dog delivered, but you won’t give me this! TREACHERY!

27: Fire Emblem Path of Radiance

Played on: Gamecube
Year Released: 2005

We’ve made it ladies, gents, and laguz of Kitsu! This is the final Fire Emblem entry on my list and my favorite in the franchise. The story of a mercenary Ike who gets caught up in a civil war that is tearing his country apart, and manages to be an important figure that helps define the future of the kingdom as a whole because of one small job he takes on. He and the Greil Mercenaries have one code when you get a job you see it through to the end, and that reasoning drives the entire momentum of the whole story. Ike and crew take on what seems to be a small job like normal that unravels into the most important thing possible.

So, what’s different here? Path of Radiance in many ways is a traditional FE game when you strip it apart. It’s a fantasy story with magic, swords, chivalry, support conversations, a weapon triangle, and a great evil that threatens the land. The classics are here, but this game does change it up a bit. Finally, we take the reigns of the story in an FE game from someone who is technically ordinary. No royalty, princes, princesses, or surprise connections this time. Just the son of a famous warrior turned merc who wants to carry on the family business. He wants to be a great warrior and aspires to make his father proud. Ike is without a shadow of a doubt my all-time favorite character in the entire Fire Emblem catalog. His personality and his character arc are just brilliantly done between his two games. Even with many similar traits in here, Path of Radiance feels fresh amongst all its brother and sister games. A more unique cast, far more compelling discussions of political hierarchy, the best deep dive into racism I’ve seen in gaming, and a personal and fantastic story that ends just right. Yet despite that elevates its world and cast even further with a fantastic sequel as well. Path of Radiance is strong enough to stand on its own as the best but it also creates the perfect setup for a sequel that delivers just as much. This game is special in what it does, and I would love to see another ambitious story like this in the next mainline game because nothing has come close to the Tellius games in terms of narrative strength.

Something that’s also been my biggest complaint in the modern games is the lack of diverse map design that actually tactically challenges players to come up with strategies and think on their feet. Path of Radiance does this plenty of times. We do get some classic castle and forest maps, but some of the obstacles here are so clever with how you must play your army. Things like the Bridge, or the mountain with the boulders that roll down them cause the player to carefully consider unit placement even more than ever. You still have to do this because of unit weaknesses, and terrain, but really adding in some unique environmental obstacles keeps the game fresh, tense, and clever. The game does border on the easier side so this makes the balance feel just right with the creative maps that push your tactical mindset. Honestly, a game that is a little harder with this much rewarding map design, and pound for pound interesting story would make possibly the best FE game. Mix that with the modern supports of games like Three Houses and you could get a dream game from me honestly.

While the game isn’t perfect, it’s my favorite of this genre and series. Path of Radiance has the cast I like the most, the best story beats, and some of the best map design. It excels overall in the places that matter the most, and that really pushes it such a long way. There are some obvious tweaks like a better support system and more challenging game that could push this game to one of the best of all time for me, but despite that, I adore what I do have. Radiant Dawn is a weird sequel that improves some stuff while stripping others away that makes it a perfect companion sequel. Just if you do play it, make sure to play it on easy mode, you will thank me later I’m sure. If I could choose a game with a facelift to be brought to switch on HD this would be at the top of my list. Make it happen Nintendo, or you know maybe go ahead and give us a new remake of Genealogy or Thracia as well. I need more classic FE damn it!

26: Crisis Core: FF7

Played on: PSP
Year Released: 2008

This might be a hot take or disappointing to long-time fans, but my favorite final fantasy media when it comes to FF7 is actually Crisis Core. The story of Zack Fair, and how he becomes a hero worthy of his dreams through his honor and pride. Crisis Core is what a spin-off game at its very best can hope to be. It feeds off its original source to be a fully fleshed-out prequel, and at the same time enhances that experience as well. They work in tandem to make each other better than they could be without. It all starts with the world and characters created by the original FF7 and how Crisis Core explores them from angles and viewpoints that we had not yet seen or known. Crisis Core is without a doubt one of my favorite offshoots of something I already enjoyed thoroughly. It makes FF7 a better game experience for me, it makes Advent Children a more popcorn flick to enjoy, and it gave me one of my all-time favorite characters in all of video gaming. It is near and dear to my heart, and well here is why.

The most prevalent theme of Crisis Core is living honorably to try and achieve the most out of your life. Even when others doubt you, try to stop you, or never support you in the slightest, what matters is that you believe in yourself, and the path you want to forge. Instead of a fantastic epic that covers themes such as the planet, one’s identity, and corporations like the original game, Crisis Core has these things as the backdrop in favor of a personal journey of one man and his ideals. Zack starts as a naiive boy with lofty goals, and over the course of the story evolves into a mature and conflicted person with deep-rooted beliefs and history. I think the focus on Zack and his relationships and how they influence him versus how he influences those around him really resonated with me. Everything is a give and take, and the dynamic between those working in symbiosis is not only fascinating but powerfully relatable. Crisis Core is one of the most relatable stories of human drama I love in gaming, and it all comes down to Zack and those he shapes his life around.

On top of the engaging narrative that struck a chord with me, I really love this battle system. It’s part action, and part turn-based. It’s somewhere between Kingdom Hearts and the old FF7 for an odd but satisfying hybrid with its own identity. The game uses far more guitar and rock-based music to support this more frantic and involved combat system. Everything in the game is built around itself nicely to compliment what the atmosphere wants you to feel. I appreciate light remixes of classic songs like Aerith’s theme with an acoustic guitar and I rather enjoy the blood-pumping electric waves of the main battle theme. Battles are quick, require decent reflexes, and the hot bar of skills and magic is completely up to the player how they want to customize to make for a Zack that suits their preferences. Not as robust as materia itself, but it maintains the old game design philosophy of the original game of letting players tailor the experience to their own needs. Something I can appreciate is taking a spin on things such as that while honoring it at the same time.

It’s hard for me to condense thoughts on a game like this. While not as grand of a journey as a proper 40 hour RPG, Crisis Core just hit it off with me. Every time I finish the game I feel so immensely satisfied and sad at the same time. Going in, you should know how the story ends if you have played FF7, but by the end of the game, you just don’t want to leave. You want to see more of the world, so when the song by Ayaka plays perfectly named “Why”, you cry in a mixture of happiness, sadness, and other mixed emotions as you try to formulate words to express how you feel. Crisis Core is a game I go back to once every few years, and I know I plan to do so for the future as well. It inspires me, and moves me like few games do, and if Square loved it even an ounce as much as I did they would remaster it or port it somewhere so it doesn’t die forgotten about as a celebration of FF7’s ten year anniversary. Whether they do or not, I shall not forget though, as this game has etched its place into my heart for the remainder of my days. Embrace your dreams kiddos, it’s worth every second of strife you face before you.

25: Persona 5

Played on: PS3
Year Released: 2017

Awww man, I bet you folks didn’t even see it coming! The beloved JRPG of the past five years, the juggernaut Persona 5! It feels odd ranking it so low even in some ways. It mostly comes down to me feeling that in comparison to its two previous counterparts has weaker bosses, my least favorite cast overall, and the narrative isn’t quite as strong that pushes it back ever so slightly. All that being said, clearly, these things aren’t bad or anything. In 2017 it was indeed my game of the year, and it won by a country mile because after 5 years of waiting, this game fulfilled my expectations and far more. Over the past few years, I’ve eagerly awaited many games, only to be burned by the final product or evenly mildly disappointed to some degree, yet this wasn’t the case with Persona. All 130 hours split between my two playthroughs doing everything you could possibly do in the game was sheer bliss and consumed the greater part of a month of my life.

While I knocked some a collection of stuff with this game, it’s mostly only for the sake of 1 to 1 comparing. I actually enjoyed the story and bosses for what they were, a few times being impressed even, and I love the cast overall it’s just not my favorite of those 3 games. That being said, this game is objectively an improvement in many facets. By far the best looking, best playing, and most fun Persona has probably ever been. The combat system is a natural evolution, but finally, we get a party switch similar to FFX that allows your whole party to be usable on the fly. This makes leveling, and combat in general way more fun and diversified. It also allows the whole party to stay relevant and useful, which is nice in any RPG honestly. The other key feature that is notably expanded this time around is the confidant system(social link in prior titles). Where P4 only gave you in battle benefits from your direct party members, every single confidant in this game, no matter their importance to your party plays into the time you spend in combat and dungeons. This makes the other half of your Persona experience even more rewarding as you get some sort of benefit no matter how you decide to spend it with or who. And for a game that is almost disgustingly long, being given the feeling of satisfaction regularly regardless of player choice is a brilliant way to make the game never feel dull.

This is classic Persona in the modern age too. The game is a mixture of dungeon crawling and daily student life simulation. One part killing and collecting monsters to take down something evil, and the other building relationships that feel meaningful and relatable. A perfect blend that has made the series a fan favorite in the past decade or so. Do you want to up your courage by eating a massive burger? Maybe you want to get to know what the cute fortune teller’s story is? Could it be you are ready to romance the girl who piques your interest most? Persona allows players to experience similar content but in an infinite amount of customizable ways because you choose how to spend your days and how to progress your relationships and narrative progress. A bountiful amount of options await you, and Persona 5 specifically adds more choices than ever while giving you even more freedom so you can really feel like you are tailoring an experience all your own.

Honestly, the only thing I’d like to see in the next Persona game is a slight change in formula. I can live with spending my daily tasks doing one thing and then doing downtime to balance it out. I’d like to see us go out of the school zone though. Possibly an adult working environment of sorts to get more mature and unique storylines that we haven’t seen from that down-to-earth aspect the simulation portion has fleshed out so much. Or if we do schooling again, maybe college? The precipice between child and adult life is so interesting we could explore it some. I think Persona is ready for an evolution as I think 5 is pretty much the ideal evolution and completion of the ideas built up over the past 3 games. I’d love to see what they come up with next. If it can be even half as stylish and still filled with Meguro’s music talent then I’m sure I will be happy either way. I love Persona 5, and the series as a whole, and it’s the only reason I criticize and want even more for its future. I’m eager to see what comes of it, but in the meantime, I guess I should get around to Royal to see all the next content and Kasumi!

24: Red Dead Redemption

Played on: PS3
Year Released: 2010

Yee-ah, ladies, and gents of Kitsu, I implore just a small bit of your valuable time to hear me out on this humble video game. Red Dead Redemption is the game that finally gave the world of gaming a truly realized vision of the wild wild west. In its dying years we follow a man named John Marston as he hopes to reclaim his honor and family. A deal he can’t ignore is given to him. Avoid being thrown into prison if he takes down his former gang. If he manages to succeed he is promised a life he desperately desires. A quiet and happy family man who wants to spend the remainder of his days without conflict or risk of death. This is the premise of Red Dead, and this is all you need before being thrown into the world.

Similar to its sister series Grand Theft Auto, Red Dead aims to be the pinnacle of open-world explorative sandbox gaming. What sets RDR apart, aside from the unique setting, horses, and what not, is the focus. RDR is a far more story-focused title. The goal of helping a man who has a regretful past who wants to bury that parts to have a sense of redemption is far more compelling to the everyman I would say. Not to say this isn’t done in similar games, but RDR makes a point to stay focused on John a person through every single quest given to him throughout the world of RDR. The other primary difference between the two franchises is Red Dead wants to hone in on tight gunplay. Nothing makes you feel more like a badass outlaw cowboy than being able to slow down time and pinpoint shoot the hat off of some asshole with an attitude.

Red Dead does indeed though share the open world with “too many things to distract me” design, though. While you might want to stay focused on the main plot with the intriguing themes, and exciting missions, it is easy as hell to find yourself in the middle of the mountains being killed by a cougar when you aren’t paying attention. RDR gives you the option to follow the main path, or you could get sidelined doing everything from playing horseshoes to enjoying a good old-fashioned duel. Or maybe you want to break a horse in the Mexican plains or dominate rebel gang hideouts. Red Dead gives you the options and there is no set way to play, and it hits the best notes of open-world design and consistently enjoyable storytelling as well. While a lot of times GTA’s crazy antics are at odds with its narrative cohesion, RDR never falters to this even with its oddest characters. I appreciate this on a deep level as it’s something I would enjoy more in gaming. A game that can take itself seriously while knowing when to not be serious as well. And when these coexist they don’t directly conflict with one another.

Honestly, I believe this is what open-world games should aim for. Nothing prepares you for experiences where you can be emotionally shaken by just riding a raft into Mexico as Far Away starts to play. I truly love how well-crafted this game is. I haven’t gotten around to the sequel yet and some rude folk has ruined the end of the story for me, but I still assume a good time awaits me, maybe an even better one. The detailed adventures of John Marston though are some of my favorite in all of gaming. This sits as one of the best open-world games I’ve ever played because of how everything comes together. Guess it’s time for me to dive back in and play blackjack for a few dozen hours in the ole saloon.

23: Donkey Kong Country Returns

Played on: Wii
Year Released: 2010

As I said many posts ago, it’s arguable that Tropical Freeze is a better game in some respects. The incredible OST, level design, and overall polish on that game are insane. You ignore the water levels and I’d say it’s one of the best 2D platformers I’ve ever played. Yet, Returns is a game I actually prefer to play and holds a far more special place in my heart. I think part of that boils down to my history with the title, and how it is sort of the reason I fell in love with DK as a franchise. While I grew up playing DKC 1 on the Gameboy Color as a kid thanks to my sweet Grandma Dolores, I never really was good enough to actually get past a certain point. As an older teen, I finally went back and beat it, but it was a trial and tribulation I tell ya. Then when I got my Wii after all these years of wanting to understand the DK craze I bought a copy of Returns on the Wii and immediately had a blast.

I’ve beaten this game not only solo though. After I got thoroughly engaged with DK and made it my mission to gather every puzzle piece, KONG at least once per level, and conquer every challenge temple I wanted to experience something else. That being the Co-op! Easily one of my favorite aspects in all of gaming is a great couch co-op experience. I’ve played this with not one friend, not two friends, but 3 friends to completion. And each and every time was a unique and exhilarating time to go through the game. None of them mimicked my time alone, and each playthrough made me respect and adore the game even more than I already did. Thanks to this game I also made it my mission to play other DK games in co-op, which I’ve done with the original trilogy as well. This is without a doubt one of my favorite couch co-op games, and it helped inspire me to not only love DK more as a whole but to have a friend along the way for it.

Returns is not only a tightly made game that I deeply respect for reinvigorating the DK franchise, but it just holds such meaning for me. It was the game that really sold me on exploring the rest of the Country games, and also gave me all those awesome co-op experiences as well. If you mix the fact that this game is already a stellar platforming game in its own right with how it kept DK alive and gave me so much in the long run, I can’t not think of it fondly. Returns is a game I go back to fairly often, and I imagine I will for the rest of my gaming days because it is fun in its purest gaming form for me mixed with emotional attachment unlike any other. If you want to get into DK and see what the old games are like but are intimidated, I highly implore you to try this game out, maybe even with a friend, and see just how enjoyable it really can be.

22: Legend of Zelda: Link Between Worlds

Played on: 3DS
Year Released: 2013

What better timing than the day of a Zelda HD coming out! This ladies and gents is my favorite old-styled Zelda game. I choose that rather than 2D since this game is not a 2D game. It’s a 3D game from a top-down perspective that allows you to shift between the two on the fly. This is done with the unique mechanic of A Link Between Worlds, the wall shifting. All throughout the game, you will encounter areas that allow you to shift through them along the wall to access all sorts of secrets and hidden content. This is how much of this game is framed, and it allows the game so many ways to be looked at.

This is basically a soft sequel to A Link to the Past, but with full freedom let upon the player. Items can be rented(bought later on) and allow the player to tackle dungeons and in-world secrets in any order they so desire. Not only does this allow a game of infinite possibilities on how you decide to go through it, adding a personalization that is special, but it also makes the game feel so open and free. While games like Breath of The Wild take the concept to 11, this stays within a traditional design of the LOZ while giving players the choice on how they want to play. Do you want to tackle dungeons in an order that feels intended, or would you prefer to go by your mood? Having things such as the ice rod right away makes you feel like a true hero right away instead of the old-fashioned building blocks of growth you normally get. This is a game for people who love Zelda design but are tired of the game telling them how they should play it.

Similar to its predecessor this game has two distinct worlds, light and dark for Link to explore, conquer, and of course save! This game has the same layout as A Link to the Past but with some things altered from the passing of time. So, you get a revitalized exploration of old territory. Old and new all in one. Adding in the shifting mechanic and you have two ways to look at classic world maps in a brand new perspective that really freshens the overall feel. This game is everything you want out of a 2D Zelda game, but with all the freedom of a 3D game mixed in. We also get a pretty cool story that works on the duality of light and dark incredibly well that further engages you to explore and see it through to the end.

The only possibly nitpick you could have is that this game is a cakewalk. Zelda isn’t really known for being hard, but since you have full access to most of your inventory right away, if you play smart, this game will be your bitch. And it was for me that is for sure. I never once died in my entire playthrough, yet it didn’t matter because this game is bliss. Some of my favorite dungeons in all of Zelda mixed with the best of both worlds. This is one of those games that cater to everything I love about old-school Zelda but want to see in more modern games. Games like Minish Cap accomplish similar feats, but this game was just something special altogether. Easily my favorite Zelda game of this style that I’ve ever played, and I look forward to replaying it again in the future. It’s just that fun, and that’s why I love the series as a whole. A sense of fun and adventure that is just oh so special.

21: Persona 4: Golden

Played on: Vita/PC
Year Released: 2012

As I near the end of my 4th playthrough of this game, something quite obvious occurs to me. I really love Persona! It probably goes without saying, but this series had truly forged an unbreakable bond with me over the past 10 years or so. Amidst the main games, spin-offs, and multimedia franchising that has been produced, Persona has grown into a household name. And honestly, I’d say the game that really started that was this right here. Ever since the popularity of Golden, Persona has found its way into so many hearts and gosh does it make me happy to see that. After falling in love with it myself, one of the few things I truly love about my hobbies is when someone has that same experience in their own way.

I think that’s what makes these games so special in general too. While you technically meet the same character, experience the same plot, conquer the same dungeons, you cultivate your own path within the game. Persona allows you to roleplay as a high school kid balancing the everyday parts of life and bizarro world dungeons formed from people’s psyches. Every small choice that creates your Persona playthrough is memorable and defining. You choose who to hang out with, what to say to them, if you want to go out and eat instead to raise your social stats, everything plays a part. The formula that started in the previous game is on full display here. However, unlike the deep blue of depression that is Persona 3 or the Rebel soul of Red Persona 5 flaunts, Persona 4 is a game basking in warm yellow sunshine vibes. It’s funny how it balances that with a murder mystery plot that is similar to a Nancy Drew or Scooby-Doo story, but it manages it with grace I’d say! Sorta reminds me of that line Buffy the Vampire Slayer treaded and so often succeeded on. Part mysterious and dark, and part fun and light relatable life stuff to make for one jam-packed emotional journey of all the feelings.

This time around combat and dungeons are changed up a little too. Now you have full control of your party, and instead of one massive dungeon that sprawls the entire game, they are all themed around the current issue at hand. This game decides to reflect the ideas of personality, our fears, and facing those head-on. It’s a fair more inspirational intent, and I think that’s one reason Persona 4 caters so well to fans. The game is far more personal with ideas focusing on identity, social pressures, and dealing with the ugly side of our personalities. Persona 4 tries to be directly personal and I think for many players that does and will strike a chord. I love the way this game really explores many interesting themes and presents them so forwardly. They do miss a few times, but in general, the game is a roaring success at making these teens feel like fully realized people who are filled with anxieties with the life they have been dealt.

I think at this point my feelings on the cast, in general, have shifted a lot. I love them all, but when I first beat the game best girl was Rise and my best bud was Yosuke, I sit at a place of adoring Kanji and Chie the most now. Well at least if you ignore the sweetest angel in the entire damn game, the perfection that is Nanako. The best little sister you could ever ask for. This game doesn’t quite eclipse Persona 3 for me in terms of overall cast, but the Persona Scooby Gang is near and dear to my heart, and I never grow tired of re-experiencing their journey again and again. A mechanical improvement of the game before, and a wonderful deep dive into personalities I truly cherish my time with, Persona 4 Golden is a genre-defining game that I can’t recommend enough. Especially if you liked Persona 5 and want to see more of the series, I urge you to buy a copy of PC and have an equally memorable time with it.

PS: My character in these games is named Godzilla, so you must respect Godzilla-kun!!

 

Any other gaming related posts you would like to see! Let me know in the comments below! I just might make the post just for you if you really inspire me to do so! I want to post content for you folks here, so let us work at that future together!  Until next time, stay same my little wanderers!